History of Mc Gregor

Province: Western Cape
Coordinates: 33°57′S 19°50′E
Area: 22.03 km2
Municipality: Langeberg

Mc Gregor named after a Scottish church pastor

This village was established in 1861 at the foot of the Renosterveld mountains when it was called Lady Grey, the name, however, was changed to McGregor in 1905 in honour of Rev. Andrew McGregor who was the Scottish pastor of the local church. The attractive 19th-century buildings and village as a whole are particularly well preserved.

Accessibility by road

McGregor is surrounded by fertile country which drew farmers to the area in the 1700s. With a “little Karoo” climate, it is hot in summer and cold in winter with rain and sometimes snow.
When the plots were sold the advertising line was that the main road from Cape Town would pass through McGregor. This, however, did not happen, nor did another road which was planned to cross the Boesmanskloof to Greyton. The result was that the isolated village had not lost its peaceful charm.
The village was proclaimed in 1862 and small plots were allocated. By 1905 all the land had been bought up. An irrigation system with a water channel from the town dam passes the houses at the edge of the street with a channel running to each house.

The license plate prefix for Mcgregor is CCD and the postcode is 6780 ( boxes only)


all listings in McGregor


Things to see and do in Mc Gregor

  • The Vrojijkheid Nature Reserve is a rocky landscape in the Breede River Valley close to McGregor
  • Krans Nature Reserve
  • Annual Poetry in McGregor festival. usually held in July
  • McGregor to Greyton walk via the Bushmanskloof Pass
  • The Old Post Office Whisky Bar McGregor-083 258 6261.
  • McGregor food market, 9 am Saturday mornings, At the market on the corner of Voortrekker and Church streets, you will find fresh veggies, bread, pies, cheese, plants or books.
  • The beautiful gardens in Mc Greggor are showcased during an Open Gardens weekend in September or October each year. participating gardens are open daily from 10:00 till 16:00 and entrance is free. A list of the gardens is available from McGregor Tourism, email  tel 023-6251954
  • Food and wine festival, usually held in September 023 625 1954
  • Bushmanskloof pass
  • Ride2Nowhere – McGregor’s MTB Stage Race
  • Mcgregor wine meander
  • Strykhoogte pass
  • Get a booklet from the tourism office that has been compiled by McGregor’s Heritage Society It showcases some of the old buildings in town. There are four guided walks. The Church Walk, The Old Mill Walk, The Old Gaol Walk, and The Lady Grey & Graveyard Walk. See the buildings and read some of the stories about their history
  • See the  Art Route, You can hire a bike from here to ride around McGregor.

Useful Numbers

  • Police: 023 625 8000
  • Municipality -0860 88 1111
  • Municipality- 023 625 1631 (general enquiries)
  • Traffic department: Ashton Traffic Department-023 615 8901 / 10177
  • Fire: 023 615 1085/6
  • Water: 0860 88 1111
  • Electricity:0860 88 1111
  • Ambulance: Robertson Hospital: 023 626 8046
  • Post office; agency – 086 011 1502
  • McGregor hall:023 625 8600
  • Library:023 625 1330
  • Closest hospital;Robertson State Hospital- 023 626 8046
  • Clinic – 023 625 1932
  • Pharmacy;Wynland Pharmacy: Robertson – 023-626 4336
  • SPCA:023 615 2241
  • Schools:McGregor
  • Waldorf School-023 625 1710
  • McGregor Primere Skool:-023 625 1603
  • Tourism  ;023 625 1954

info@tourismmcgregor.co.za www.tourismmcgregor.co.za


Some Local Listings